Home A - Z FAQ Bookstore Art Prints Online Library Discussion Forum Muir Weather Maps Lodging About Search
CalHotels.US--online reservations now CalHotels.US Lowest Hotel Rates Guaranteed. Click Here For Yours!
Hotel photos, maps, reviews, & discount rates.

U.S. Hotels in California (Yosemite, L. A., San Francisco ), AL, AK, AR, AS, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DC, DE, FL, FM, GA, GU, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NH, NJ, NY, OK, NV, MH, MP, NM, NC, ND, OH, OR, PA, PR, PW, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, VI WA, WV, WI, WY

[Yosemite]

Trip to yosemite, complete newby from uk

Travelling to and visiting Yosemite National Park. How to get there, what to see or do, and other Yosemite trip advice.

Moderators: Wickett, dan

Trip to yosemite, complete newby from uk

Postby Sara87 » Mon Nov 28, 2016 3:07 am

Hi,
We are planning a holiday to do the following: San Francisco to Yosemite to LA to San Diego and finally Las Vegas. This appears to be out best route??
However I am struggling with the Yosemite section. We are there for 3 days in September. I have found a place called foxes lair which seems resonable and in a good location to stay?
We want to visit glacier point, is this feasible from this location? We have a car, can we drive to foxes Lair and then from there to glacier point?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance
Sara87
First-timer
First-timer

Re: Trip to yosemite, complete newby from uk

Postby dan » Mon Nov 28, 2016 11:11 am

I never heard of Foxes Lair, but I Goggled it and it seems to be in the Yosemite West, which is a small community with cabins and condos just outside of Yosemite National Park at the junction of the Glacier Point Road and Highway 41. There's no stores or restaurants at Yosemite West, so buy and bring food and groceries you need.

Yes, you can get to Glacier Point from Yosemite West in under an hour.