Home A - Z FAQ Bookstore Art Prints Online Library Discussion Forum Muir Weather Maps Lodging About Search
CalHotels.US--online reservations now CalHotels.US Lowest Hotel Rates Guaranteed. Click Here For Yours!
Hotel photos, maps, reviews, & discount rates.

U.S. Hotels in California (Yosemite, L. A., San Francisco ), AL, AK, AR, AS, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DC, DE, FL, FM, GA, GU, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NH, NJ, NY, OK, NV, MH, MP, NM, NC, ND, OH, OR, PA, PR, PW, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, VI WA, WV, WI, WY

[Yosemite]

July Hike Planning Help?

Hiking, backpacking, running, biking, climbing, rafting, and other human-powered activities in Yosemite National Park

Moderators: Wickett, dan

July Hike Planning Help?

Postby forestplay » Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:12 pm

I have a wilderness permit for a mid-July hike from Tuolumne Meadows to the valley (Lyell Canyon to Happy Isles). I'm not new to backpacking but I am new to Yosemite (most of my backpacking has been in KC/Sequoia). Since half my crew is in Spokane and the other half is in the SF bay area, I've been putting some plans together on Google docs.

Anyone want to look over what I've put together for suggestions and constructive criticism?

Over 5 days, we are going from Lyell Canyon TH -> Vogelsang -> Merced -> LYV -> Half Dome & Happy Isles

Here's our schedule.

A trip intro I wrote to get everyone on the same page.

Also here's our packing lists.

Thanks for the feedback!

-Bob
forestplay
Regular
Regular

Re: July Hike Planning Help?

Postby balzaccom » Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:01 pm

My thoughts:

Schedule: Why not start the trip by driving to Tuolumne Meadows and park the car there? It would give you a lot more flexibility at the start of the hike, when you may need to make trip for something you forgot...Then you can camp in Yosemite Valley on the last night, take the morning shuttle up to your car, and be on your way.