Home A - Z FAQ Bookstore Art Prints Online Library Discussion Forum Muir Weather Maps Lodging About Search
CalHotels.US--online reservations now CalHotels.US Lowest Hotel Rates Guaranteed. Click Here For Yours!
Hotel photos, maps, reviews, & discount rates.

U.S. Hotels in California (Yosemite, L. A., San Francisco ), AL, AK, AR, AS, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DC, DE, FL, FM, GA, GU, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NH, NJ, NY, OK, NV, MH, MP, NM, NC, ND, OH, OR, PA, PR, PW, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, VI WA, WV, WI, WY

[Yosemite]

First-Come Permits & Early June Backpacking

Hiking, backpacking, running, biking, climbing, rafting, and other human-powered activities in Yosemite National Park

Moderators: Wickett, dan

First-Come Permits & Early June Backpacking

Postby ErinJ86 » Mon Feb 15, 2016 4:09 pm

Hello! This is my first time posting on this forum. (I apologize to anyone who has read these or similar questions from me via other forums :D )

I have a wilderness permit for Sunrise Lakes on June 8th for four people. Ideally we'd do Clouds Rest and Half Dome, but as winter progresses I'm realizing it's been a snowy year and things aren't looking good for this route in early June. However, it is great for the drought! Most of the group has experience camping and hiking in the snow (and we're Minnesotans!), but we're mainly concerned with when Tioga Road will open and the high creek crossing. Say things don't go as planned, here's my questions:

1. What would be some decent options for a four day/three night trip in early June? I know it all depends on how winter progresses, but what's usually a good go-to route with minimal snow? Any routes that could feasibly include Half Dome?

2. Has anyone successfully scored first-come, first-served for four people in June? June 8th is a Wednesday so I'm assuming that increases our chances.