Home A - Z FAQ Bookstore Art Prints Online Library Discussion Forum Muir Weather Maps Lodging About Search
CalHotels.US--online reservations now CalHotels.US Lowest Hotel Rates Guaranteed. Click Here For Yours!
Hotel photos, maps, reviews, & discount rates.

U.S. Hotels in California (Yosemite, L. A., San Francisco ), AL, AK, AR, AS, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DC, DE, FL, FM, GA, GU, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NH, NJ, NY, OK, NV, MH, MP, NM, NC, ND, OH, OR, PA, PR, PW, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, VI WA, WV, WI, WY

[Yosemite]

5-6 days high country trip, looking for advice & suggest

Hiking, backpacking, running, biking, climbing, rafting, and other human-powered activities in Yosemite National Park

Moderators: Wickett, dan

5-6 days high country trip, looking for advice & suggest

Postby brasi333 » Wed Jun 17, 2009 5:17 pm

FYI - I am a fit beginner, I have hiked much in my life but nothing close to what I am planning.

I will have 5-6 days up in the high country, and I had originally planned a trip from Happy Isles -> Half Dome-> Clouds Rest-> Lake Tenaya-> Indian Rock -> North Dome -> Yosemite Falls-> Valley Floor (more or less). However, now I doubt I can get a wilderness reservation for HI on my start day, so I was going to do it backwards - start at Yosemite Falls, which is much less crowded, then just do everything in reverse, ending with HI. I had a couple questions for anyone who has been up there recently or just had any good advice. However, I am open to route changes as well.

-Will I be able to cross the stream/river at Tenaya lake without getting my pack wet? I know its pretty strong now, I dont mind having to wade through some cold water, so long as I can dry off after and my pack stays ok.