Home A - Z FAQ Bookstore Art Prints Online Library Discussion Forum Muir Weather Maps Lodging About Search
CalHotels.US--online reservations now CalHotels.US Lowest Hotel Rates Guaranteed. Click Here For Yours!
Hotel photos, maps, reviews, & discount rates.

U.S. Hotels in California (Yosemite, L. A., San Francisco ), AL, AK, AR, AS, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DC, DE, FL, FM, GA, GU, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NH, NJ, NY, OK, NV, MH, MP, NM, NC, ND, OH, OR, PA, PR, PW, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, VI WA, WV, WI, WY

[Yosemite]

Glen Aulin Late September

Hiking, backpacking, running, biking, climbing, rafting, and other human-powered activities in Yosemite National Park

Moderators: Wickett, dan

Postby ncalcamper » Mon Sep 06, 2010 7:10 pm

Hi, I'm thinking about taking my 9-year old son to Glen Aulin for an overnighter the last weekend in September. It's my first time doing a Yosemite backpack trip so a little confused about the permits and where I'm allowed to stay given we will only be doing an overnighter. I believe the Sierra Camp is closed - so looking for camp suggestions. We'll have a bear canister so don't need to stay near bear boxes. Actually would prefer to be off the bear-beaten path!

We'll come up on Friday night, camp at the backpacker camp, I guess. Also, any advise on weather would be greatly appreciated. Sorry it's so much!
ncalcamper

Postby hotrod4x5 » Mon Sep 06, 2010 8:04 pm

When I went to Glen Aulin in late Sept, the High Sierra Camp was closed. Our permit was for Glen Aulin pass through, we were supposed to camp somewhere near Waterwheel Falls. My companion was pretty slow so we barely got across the bridge and into Glen Aulin as the light was fading. We walked into the campground and someone called to me, there's a free site over there. So we set up camp. I know we weren't supposed to, based on our permit, but it all worked out fine.