Home A - Z FAQ Bookstore Art Prints Online Library Discussion Forum Muir Weather Maps Lodging About Search
CalHotels.US--online reservations now CalHotels.US Lowest Hotel Rates Guaranteed. Click Here For Yours!
Hotel photos, maps, reviews, & discount rates.

U.S. Hotels in California (Yosemite, L. A., San Francisco ), AL, AK, AR, AS, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DC, DE, FL, FM, GA, GU, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NH, NJ, NY, OK, NV, MH, MP, NM, NC, ND, OH, OR, PA, PR, PW, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, VI WA, WV, WI, WY

[Yosemite]

Trailhead for Cloud's Rest?

Hiking, backpacking, running, biking, climbing, rafting, and other human-powered activities in Yosemite National Park

Moderators: Wickett, dan

Trailhead for Cloud's Rest?

Postby Valhalla » Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:07 am

Good morning,

I have several questions (for now) and any help would be greatly appreciated. This is my first time to Yosemite and I'm trying to make the most of it. Won't have another chance for quite a while. I searched for the answers through google but found no clear answers.

#1. I was wondering if anyone can tell me which trailhead is a good start for a single night backpacking trip to Cloud's Rest (And will I need any special pass, other than the Wilderness Permit for 2?). Ideal length of around 10 miles or less each way.

- What pass will I need to park on the trailhead overnight?

... Are any of the Tioga Road trailheads near Tenaya Lake good or do some not connect, etc????

#2. Can I pick up a bear canister at the Ranger Station at the same time I pick up the wilderness permits?

Thanks in advance!
"... For he today who sheds his blood with me shall forever be my brother..."
Valhalla
Regular
Regular

Postby AlmostThere » Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:21 am